Hot Air Group

Hot Air est un ensemble vocal à 16 voix basé près de Bruxelles.  Son répertoire est très étendu, mais plutôt léger : musique folk, spirituals, jazz et pop. Le groupe chante très souvent sans accompagnement (a cappella) mais parfois aussi avec clavier ou même un petit orchestre.

Les membres de Hot Air viennent de plusieurs pays (Belgique, Pays-Bas, Royaume-Uni, Canada, Etats-Unis, Suède), mais habitent tous à Bruxelles ou ses environs.

En 2000, un petit groupe de chanteurs est invité (pour un modeste cachet) à chanter à l’occasion d’un mariage.  Ils découvrent ainsi la joie de chanter des chansons légères de styles différents, et décident d’accepter d’autres invitations.  Quelqu’un suggère de faire un tour en montgolfière (‹‹hot air balloon›› en anglais), afin de sentir ce que c’est que de chanter dans le ciel.  Ceci s’avère être une ambition beaucoup trop coûteuse, mais le nom ‹‹Hot Air›› reste…..

HA2En 2001, ce premier groupe fusionne avec ‹‹New Day››, une petite chorale dirigée par Elizabeth Flynn.  Quelques nouveaux chanteurs enthousiastes rejoignent la chorale, qui compte maintenant 16 membres.

La première dirigeante est Elizabeth Flynn, une accompagnatrice professionnelle et professeur de piano d’origine canadienne.  Par la suite, Tom Cunningham, l’ancien chef de musique de la Brussels Choral Society, lui succède : Tom a publié des compositions et des adaptations que le groupe chante avec beaucoup de plaisir. Le directeur actuel est Steven De Mesmaeker, un dirigeant de chorale et musicien belge accompli avec lequel le groupe aborde un nouveau répertoire passionnant.

 L’ensemble a participé récemment avec succès à des tournois de chorale en Flandre .

Soprano: Hanna Copner, Helen Coyne-Wincott,  Josephine Draycott, Andrea Vahrenhorst
Alto: Lisa Armetta, Alison Copner, Jenny Fischer
Tenor: Andy Fisk, Owen Fitzpatrick, Alan Gray, Paul Manterfield
Bass: Michael Berrisford, George Biesmans, Steve Langley, Peter Mountain, Chris Vahrenhorst

Hot Air Group

"Hot Air" is a 16 voice vocal ensemble based in the Brussels area. We sing a wide variety of music but mainly on the lighter side: folk songs, spirituals, jazz and pop. Much of what we sing is unaccompanied (a cappella) but we also perform with keyboard or band accompaniment.

The members of “Hot Air” come from various countries (Belgium, Canada, England, Ireland, Scotland, Sweden, Transylvania and the United States), but we all live in or around Brussels.

HA2

In 2000, a small group of singers was invited to sing (for a modest fee) at a wedding. They discovered it was great fun performing lively numbers – “hot airs”  – in a range of different styles, so they decided to accept more invitations. Someone suggested saving the fees for a trip in a hot-air balloon and the novel experience of singing in the sky. This turned out to be an over-expensive ambition but the name “Hot Air” stuck.

In 2001, the original group merged with New Day, a small choir led by Elizabeth Flynn. Supplemented by a number of additional enthusiastic singers, the choir grew to 16 members.

Our musical directors to date have been Elizabeth Flynn, a professional accompanist and piano teacher from Canada and Tom Cunningham, the former musical director of the Brussels Choral Society whose excellent published compositions and arrangements we have enjoyed singing. Currently, our music director is Steven De Mesmaeker, a very accomplished musician and choral director from Belgium with whom the choir is tackling an exciting new repertoire. 

The group has been well placed in recent Flemish Region choir competitions.

The group consists of:

Soprano: Josephine Draycott, Éva-Mária Szávuj, Danielle Tylke, Helen Coyne-Wincott
Alto: Lisa Armetta, Asa Standar, Alison Copner
Tenor: Paul Manterfield, Alan Gray, Andy Fisk
Bass: Steve Langley, Brian Flynn, Peter Mountain

 Our accompanist is Elizabeth Flynn.